Yang di-Pertuan Agong Scholarship

Since 2006, the Public Service Department (PSD) has impemented a new programme called the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Scholarship or the King Schorlarship following the decision of the Prime Minister on 3 November 2004, which was approved by the Conference of Rulers meeting on 16 March 2005.

This scholarship is introduced to recognise the exceptional skills of candidates wishing to pursue their postgraduate studies (Master’s and PhD), particularly in the field of science and technology, either locally or abroad.

The inaugural award presentation ceremony of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Scholarship to five (5) candidates for the Master’s and Doctoral programmes respectively was held on 29 September 2006. It was officiated by His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the National Palace. The recipients were also introduced to Their Royal Highnesses the rulers, Their Excellencies the Yang di-Pertuan Negeri and the Prime Minister in a special ceremony prior to the banquet in honour of the Conference of Rulers meeting at the National Palace.